City Electoral Commission

The City Electoral Commission is a body of MOL appointed by the City Council for a four-year period.
The City Electoral Commission comprises a president and three members, each of whom has their own deputy. The president and his / her deputy are, if possible, appointed from the ranks of judges or other qualified lawyers. Other members of the Electoral Commission are appointed from nominations by political parties and other citizens’ organisations.



  • to ensure the legality of elections to the City Council,
  • to certify individual candidates or lists of candidates and to set up a list or lists of candidates,
  • to determine where polling stations should be,
  • to appoint electoral boards,
  • to ascertain the results of voting and publish which members of the City Council have been elected and to report on the results of elections,
  • to carry out and lead direct technical work connected with elections,
  • to carry out other tasks as determined by the law on local elections.


The City Electoral Commission has to carry out its functions conscientiously and responsibly and may only work on the basis of legislation and other regulations, as an independent body.


The City Electoral Commission has a secretary, who is appointed from among the staff of the city administration and who is not a member of an electoral board. His / her duties are the preparation of meetings of the Electoral Commission and the implementation of decisions of the electoral body.


Meeting of European

7. - 9. May 2008


500th anniversary of birth Primož Trubar
Ljubljana from A to Z
Weather Forecast
Slovenien Presidency of EU
Vision of Ljubljana in 2025